Watch The Total Solar Eclipse Live Stream

Watch The Total Solar Eclipse Live Stream

A total solar eclipse is the best way to ring in the first day of spring. The spring equinox is Friday and Europe, North Africa and North Asia will witness a partial eclipse.

A convoy of European satellites will chase the total solar eclipse of 2015 from space on Friday (March 20) in a bid to capture a couple of view in this celestial event you don’t want to miss!

Watch The Total Solar Eclipse Live Stream

But if you can’t witness it in person, you can watch it live online in a series of webcasts. The robotic telescope service Slooh will host a total solar eclipse live stream from the Faroes starting at 4:30 a.m. EDT (0830 GMT) on March 20. You can see live coverage of the eclipse directly through Slooh.

The event is worth waking up early since the next total eclipse won’t happen until 2017.

Watch The Total Solar Eclipse Live Stream

This Friday’s eclipse of the sun is one of two solar eclipses in 2015, but the only one in which the moon will appear to completely block the sun. To mark the event, ESA will host an eclipse-watching party at its Space Expo visitor center in Noordwijk, Netherlands — where only a partial eclipse will be visible — for the public to look at the solar eclipse from the ground and watch Proba 2’s work.

A solar eclipse occur when the moon passes in between the Earth and the sun, from the Earth’s perspective. From Earth, the moon and the sun look about the same size, so during a total solar eclipse, the moon blocks out all of the sun’s light. But that only occurs when the two bodies are perfectly aligned.

Watch The Total Solar Eclipse Live Stream

And again, the times for the eclipse vary by location, but in Noordwijk, the eclipse will begin at 9:30 a.m. local time (4:30 a.m. EDT, or 0830 GMT). he partial eclipse will reach its maximum extent at 10:37 a.m. local time (5:37 a.m. EDT, or 0937 GMT), when the moon will cover four-fifths of the sun. The eclipse will finish at 11:48 a.m. local time (6:48 a.m. EDT, or 1048 GMT).

A total solar eclipse is considered one of the most spectacular events in nature, mainly because the sun’s outer atmosphere, called the corona, becomes visible when the moon passes in front of the sun. But observing solar eclipses, whether total or partial, requires caution, ESA officials warned.

Please take care if you are fortunate enough to be watching this event: Observing the sun with the naked eye is extremely dangerous and can lead to permanent blindness. Please use certified equipment such as solar eclipse glasses, or a solar telescope under expert guidance.”

 

 

via Space

x
Please "like" us: